God loves VIPs and hates my shorts!

Almost a year ago, I tried to enter the Jain temple in Sion wearing shorts. I was stopped at the gate by the watchman who informed me with an air of arrogance that I couldn’t go in as shorts were banned from temple premises. He pointed to a notice on the blackboard just outside the temple. The notice was in Gujarati. And I can’t read Gujarati. Apparently, it said God hated my shorts. And since then, every jaunt to the temple has been in my shorts. I love fighting authority!

A couple of months ago, I made my first trip to Siddhivinayak. There’s a separate queue for those with loaded wallets. And I didn’t have a wallet. And so I did the best I could. I prayed to the backs of those in front of me. And I left. Apparently, God loves VIPs.

14 thoughts on “God loves VIPs and hates my shorts!

  1. It seems God, for some strange reason, doesn’t like people in black tees either. It was a nice black you know. A basic one, but nice. Not offensive to anyone/anything. It’s of course left to the guard’s discretion and not the idol’s. Seems like the guard took it personally.

  2. Ok…will try to address both comments…

    The basic understanding when you are entering a Jain Temple is…you leave the whole world at its entrance…you do not indulge in any worldly activities…it is soul time….

    Secondly, a temple is the residence of the king/emperor of 3 loks…u wouldn’t visit the PM of india in shorts, same way, u do not disrespect the god in the temple by wearing shorts while visiting him…remember you are a formal guest/visitior at his residence….btw, the idol is not just marble and soulless…it becomes fit for worship only after Pran-Pratishtha, when a soul is placed in the idol…and it becomes alive…

    Black TeeShirt… well we are disallowed to wear black to the temple completely…it is a funeral color…and inauspicious….

    You may not be aware but there are 64 ashatanas or forbidden rules while visiting the temple….

    Unfortunately, we are not made aware of them…

    • For me the concept of God is respecting the basic premise of humanity – the goodness inside people. I doubt if it makes any difference to God whether I worship him in shorts or in a white robe, as long as my heart is pure and I respect others.

  3. There was a prince turned dacoit….one day he attacked a rich sheth and his caravan…the sheth killed the prince’s pregnant wife and unborn child…the prince overcome with grief, quit that life and walked into the nearest city, with just the clothes on his back and nothing else…wandering around he came to a jain temple and a jain upashray…he was not a jain..he walked in and paid his respects to the maharajsaheb there…on enquiries, he related his life story….the maharajsaheb placed him as a servant with one of the sheth’s who came to visit him…the sheth took him on as a companion…and agreed to provide him food, shelter and 5 kodis (currency, like paise) per month. The job was to accompany the sheth everywhere and attend to his needs. Everyday the sheth would go to the temple, and the prince would wait outside till he finished his puja…At the end of one month, the sheth paid the prince 5 kodis. They went to the temple…The prince felt like doing pushp puja….He spent his entire wealth of 5 kodis and bought 18 flowers from the gardener at the gate…and gave it to the sheth…for god’s puja….
    In his next birth, the prince became King Kumarpal, the king of 18 kingdoms…all because of the 18 flowers with which he had worshipped once in his life….because of the shuddh bhav he had….
    So, you see, even a beggar, is treated fairly….
    But when a man, with sufficient funds, chooses to dress in a manner that insults his host, he is not going to be welcomed…..
    If guests dressed shabbily, and visited your house at a formal function, then you would feel they are deliberately insulting you, by not wearing their best, when they could afford it…
    In the same way, you are supposed to dress decently, when you are visiting god in his temple…don’t insult him with shorts, pyjamas or indecent clothing…respect him…
    A temple is not your private garden, for you to wander in as you like…

    Dont wear clothes to the temple, that you wouldn’t wear to a formal function….

    Remember you are a guest, and god is the host, and visiting the temple implies your respect for god….show him that respect….

    This is not to get into an argument with you…ultimately your views are your own…and if u show disrespect …u will reap as you sow….

    Makes no difference to me…

    • I’m sorry if I’ve offended you in any way. You’re right in what you have to say but think about this for a second .. Isn’t it unfair that you’re judging me and calling me disrespectful just because I wore shorts to the temple? I meant no disrespect and like I said .. I know my heart was pure and my faith and devotion is no different from yours ..
      The temple may not be my private garden but it is not God’s residence .. He resides in all our hearts and minds ..
      You have your faith .. I have mine .. And I shall indeed reap the benefits of what I sow ..
      Peace .. 🙂

    • Hey Sahil, I agree with you totally. God does not estimate your worth or quality by judging your attire, humans do.
      As for the comments you received, if you take every single person who lacks this basic understanding seriously, then there will be no end to it. Do not apologize for your beliefs.

      @Nirali: So you mean to say if a dacoit prayed hard enough and gave away his “entire wealth” for prayer, his status will be elevated to kingship? and technically speaking, even the dacoit was not permitted to the temple because he was poor (which proves his point), so your interesting story has actually strayed from the main topic here and you have unnecessarily argued with the writer. Nothing gives you the right to judge a person by saying “u will reap as you sow”. What if he entered the temple in shorts? Do we have to bring the price tag of the shorts along with us in the temple to demonstrate its worth? The writer is not lashing out on God, he is merely criticizing the way of thinking. God did not make these rules, do not state otherwise. And what you have been writing here is fundamentally wrong. Showing respect in an Indian attire is more refined than showing respect in shorts? Is that what you want to say? Respect is what you owe, love is what you give. There is a big difference.
      And if you have so much time in your hands that you are sniffing around in a small blog and complaining about what the writer has to say, then write something yourself instead of showing off how erudite you are over here. I am sure there are plenty of hollow people out there who will agree with you. But remember this, people who oppose the cherished ideas and have the guts to freely speak about it are the ones who gain love and respect. God favors those who have an open mind. Of course, it is important to distinguish between right and wrong. But such people, narrow minded, whose only aim in life is to judge the way a person dresses before entering a place of worship, are precisely the reason why this world will never change.

    • Hey Sahil, I agree with you totally. God does not estimate your worth or quality by judging your attire, humans do.
      As for the comments you received, if you take every single person who lacks this basic understanding seriously, then there will be no end to it. Do not apologize for your beliefs.

      @Nirali: So you mean to say if a dacoit prayed hard enough and gave away his “entire wealth” for prayer, his status will be elevated to kingship? and technically speaking, even the dacoit was not permitted to the temple because he was poor (which proves his point), so your interesting story has actually strayed from the main topic here and you have unnecessarily argued with the writer. Nothing gives you the right to judge a person by saying “u will reap as you sow”. What if he entered the temple in shorts? Do we have to bring the price tag of the shorts along with us to the temple to demonstrate its worth? The writer is not lashing out on God, he is merely criticizing the way of thinking. God did not make up these rules, do not state otherwise. And what you have been writing here is fundamentally wrong. Showing respect in an Indian attire is more refined than showing respect in shorts? Is that what you want to say? Respect is what you owe, love is what you give. There is a big difference.
      And if you have so much time in your hands that you are sniffing around in a small blog and complaining about what the writer has to say, then write something yourself instead of showing off how erudite you are over here. I am sure there are plenty of hollow people out there who will agree with you. But remember this, people who oppose the cherished ideas and have the guts to freely speak about it are the ones who gain love and respect. God favors those who have an open mind. Of course, it is important to know how to distinguish between right and wrong. But such people, narrow minded, whose only aim in life is to judge the way a person dresses before entering a place of worship, are precisely the reason why this world is at its downfall.

  4. I respect your faith .. And I request you do the same .. You may not understand me (or know me) but you don’t have the right to judge .. It’s for Him to decide .. Not you .. 🙂

  5. There’s a Swami Samarth temple close to my house… my father visits it often … once on our way back home he asked me to take a short halt at the temple. So I parked the car there and thought of visiting along with him. He went inside and just when I was about to enter, the guard stopped me saying “Madam, aap ko allowed nai hai”. The reason was I was wearing jeans and showed me a notice board declaring that Women in jeans aren’t allowed in the temple. To describe my dressing in detail I was wearing jeans and a kurti that effortlessly totally covered me 😀 … So, even if I go by the code of conduct / rule of ‘respect’ explained by one of the commenters on this post, I was decently dressed for meeting the PM of this country. I only understand one simple funda… we respect God by respecting others – their existence and their feelings … now whether one’s doing that in shorts or in dhoti, doesn’t matter a wee bit… m super sure God doesn’t mind

Leave a Reply

